Image

“LEGACY” STORY FROM AFRICA #3

As I looked at this photo of my “baby” making a home visit to the poorest of the poor in the slums of Africa, all I could think was “He will give you the desires of your heart!” (Psalm 37:4) That thought goes back to a night several weeks ago when I was soaking in a hot bathtub. All of the sudden she walks in (just to set the record straight…it doesn’t matter if they are 2 or 14, they don’t knock and even the bathroom is not a private place) with the look on her face of, “Mom, we need to talk.” She plopped down on my bathroom counter. I sat up straight in the tub. She began to spill her heart and within minutes, she was in tears. She began telling me how she felt this time in Africa she was supposed to go and find the children who weren’t in the schools or in the orphanages, the ones that ran to them each time they walked through the slums wondering why they couldn’t hear the stories the Americans came to tell, the ones that continue to be hungry each day and the ones who had never even heard the name of God. So between her sobs, I began to ask her, “Do you feel God called you to this trip?” She nodded, “Yes!” I continued, “Do you feel that God provided in amazing ways the funds you needed to go?” She nodded, “Yes!” Again, “Do you feel that God has broken your heart for those who aren’t being reached?” In a little girl voice, she nodded, “uh-oh!” Then I asked, “So why are you crying, sweet girl?” To which she sobbed even louder, “What if the leaders won’t listen to me because I’m only 14, and I don’t get to go to them?” Then for the next hour while my bath water went from steaming hot to chilling cold and every one of my fingers and toes turned to prunes, I spoke all the encouraging, confident building, motherly words of trusting God that I could think of, and finally asked this one last question, “So, do you think your mission for this trip is to “Reach the Unreached’?” To which she sat up straight and tall with a smile on her face and said, “Yes, Mom! That’s my mission this time!” She and I said these three words over and over to each other on the remaining days leading up to her trip. They are the last words I whispered in her ear as I hugged her good-bye at the airport…”Go ‘Reach the Unreached,’ my precious girl!” This photo made me smile because it confirms…she got the desire of her heart and is fulfilling her mission too!

Leave a Reply

