We Need A Plan!

From My Journal Dated Feburary 20, 2013:

Soooo much to do! Soooo much to get ready! Soooo much to plan! It seems too overwhelming! It seems like too much! It seems too impossible! It seems…It seems…It seems….Like I just want to say “Calgon Take Me Away!”

But as I sit at lunch today with the Love of My Life and also the “Planner” of our family, the one who has every suitcase packed and repacked two weeks before our vacation, we start to formulate “The Plan!”

When to start?… “Ohhh, that’s tooooo much to think about!”
Where to go?… “Ohhh, it’s soooo overwhelming to think about leaving my family!”
What treatment regimen to choose?… “Ohhh, it seems toooo impossible to do all that is involved in treatment!”
How to cover all the bases while I’m gone?… “Ohhh, there’s soooo much planning to do!”

To every one of his planning questions, my answer was “ohhhhh” or “sooooo” or “tooooo,” and within minutes I was sitting in a local deli with tears falling into my favorite salad. Needless to say, we left without “The Plan” being made… much to my relief and much to the his frustration.

As I was driving away, still in tears, I remembered the words I had read just the day before in my “Daily Hope” devotion from Pastor Rick Warren, whose words have taught me soooo much over the years about what it means to have a relationship with God. The title was: “Stop Procrastinating!” When I got home, I reread every wise word he taught in this devotion. Below are a few highlights…

“The Bible gives us five actions we can take to stop procrastinating:

1. Stop making excuses. The number one excuse I hear is, “When things settle down, then I’m going to …” Things will never settle down. You must make a choice to prioritize what is important.

2. Start today. Not next month, next week, or tomorrow.

3. Establish a planned schedule. Proverbs 13:16 says, “A wise man plans ahead. A fool doesn’t.” (Guess that means “The Planner” in my life is wise) If you fail to plan, you’re planning to fail.

The next two points jumped off the page at me as if they had flashing red lights that said, “KARMAN, THESE ARE FOR YOU!!!! DID YOU HEAR ME? FOR YOU!!!! SO PAY CLOSE ATTENTION!!!!”

4. Face your fears. We hate to admit we have fears, because we think they’re a sign of weakness. But fear is a sign of humanity. Only fools are not afraid. You’ve heard it said, “Courage is not the absence of fear; it’s moving ahead in spite of our fears.” The Bible says there is nothing you cannot master with the help of Christ who gives you strength (Phil. 4:13)

5. Focus on what you gain, not the pain. There are very few things in life that are easy. You must push through the frustration and look at the gain beyond the pain. Concentrate on how good you’re going to feel once you’ve finished the task.

Jesus never said life would be easy. There will be sacrifice and commitment. But there is tremendous reward when we do the things he calls us to do.”

As I read each word, my tears seemed to dry up and I called “The Planner” with “A Plan”…

1. Will begin treatment next Monday
2. Will select the treatment plan of high powered antibiotics, detox, immunity boost, diet, rest, no stress, lymphatic massage, saunas and prayer, prayer, prayer.
3. Will start today writing out everything that has to be done to keep our household going while I’m away
4. Will “Cease Striving” in my personal life
5. Will “Let Go” of my work life
6. Will Pray for my family life

And Most of all…

7. Will TRUST & OBEY God has the best “PLAN!”

“I can do ALL things through Christ who gives me strength!” Philippians 4:13

Leave a Reply

