A Reflective Look Back to Streams in the Desert

Streams in the Desert

A Reflective Look Back at My Journal Entry from Friday, February 16, 2013

“Streams in the Desert”

It’s been 10 days since we sat in the doctor’s office and tried to process all that he was telling us and all that it would mean for my family and me. As I just finished reading a daily update on CaringBridge, I am thinking about the special “Mommy” to three very young children whose story it shares. On most days, I have prayer requests that come to me via email, text or Facebook. However, when I read the request on a very cold, winter afternoon several months ago for this “Mommy” that I have never even met, not only did my heart break for her, but I was immediately drawn to her story. She is a young beautiful mother of three adorable children, all under the age of 6, who had a blood clot in her brain. The surgery to correct it almost killed her and has left her paralyzed. She is currently away from her Texas home and family on the long road of rehabilitation in hopes of a full recovery. I was soooo drawn to her story that I immediately signed up to follower her daily updates on CaringBridge, and I pleaded with God to spare her life for the sake of her three precious little ones.

What amazed me the most, as I learned the names of her family members and friends and watched as they all “loved her well,” was that they NEVER gave up hope, ALWAYS trusted that God had a plan and BELIEVED that the power of prayer could save her life (which it did)! It was through her family and friends, who I also have never met, that I was introduced to “Streams in the Desert,” a daily devotional by LB Cowman, who learned to persevere and have hope in the midst of suffering of her own.

Today’s excerpt from Streams in the Desert on this “Mommy’s” CaringBridge page…

“Thank Me for the conditions that are requiring you to Be Still. Do not spoil these quiet hours by wishing me away, waiting impatiently to be active again. Some of my greatest works in my kingdom have been from sick beds and prison cells. Instead of resenting the limitations of a weakened body, search for My way in the midst of these very circumstances. Limitations can be liberating when your strongest desire is living close to Me. Quietness and trust enhance your awareness of My Presence with you. Do not despise these simple ways of serving Me. Although you feel cut off from the activity of the world, your quiet trust makes a powerful statement in spiritual realms. My strength and power show themselves most effective in weakness. (2 Cor. 12:9)”

I felt like these words were written just for me and ordered a copy of “Streams in the Desert” as soon as I could. This book now breathes truth and life into me every morning and is the #1 gift I give to anyone who finds themselves in the middle of a storm.

Dear Recovering “Mommy”: “Thank you! Even though you’ve never spoken one word to me, your life has taught me so much! Now, I know why I was soooo drawn to you. I too must leave the ones I love to seek treatment so I can come back whole again to love them more. I too want to have strong faith that trusts in God’s plan with all my heart even in the midst of suffering. I too want to never lose hope, never give up and share my story with anyone needing encouragement to do the same. May we both be healed 100% and always look for the “streams in the desert” until we are!”

Leave a Reply

